A brief introduction to the SmartMesh-RootsCap Ecosystem Fund

SmartRoots Fund is a joint venture between SmartMesh and Roots Capital and is the first blockchain ecosystem fund focusing on the Internet of Things (IOT) and edge computing for the next generation of decentralized Mesh networks worldwide. It is a US$100 million fund with an initial trench of US$30m.

  • SmartMesh is the next generation equivalent of the TCP/IP protocol for decentralized blockchain-based networks. SmartMesh has built-in blockchain light nodes that extend the Lightning, Raiden and other secondary blockchain architecture network protocols to achieve tokenized network micro-payments. Operated via blockchain-based tokens, SmartMesh can self-organize into resilient, decentralized, self-healing Mesh Networks that provide higher near-field speeds and bandwidth than the Internet, and they are largely free of charge. SmartMesh allows blockchain technology to break through the border of the Internet into the IoT Internet of Things and the age of the IoE Internet of Everything.
  • Roots Capital has been focused on blockchain investment since 2017. Since then they have invested in dozens of blockchain projects and remain committed to being their long-term partners. Roots Capital integrates resources and empowers investment projects with ecoystem development, community operations, media and PR, fund raising, listing on and dealing with exchanges and many other crucial aspects in order to grow healthy and profitable projects.
  • SmartRoots is an investor in first and second tier high-quality projects in the SmartMesh ecosystem, including off-line communications technology, chips, Internet of Things and applications, as well as edge computing and edge storage, while also taking into account the discovery of and investment in top global blockchain projects.

Investment Direction and Strategy

SMT Ecosystem Quality Project Primary Market Investment

International Blockchain Project Primary Market Investment

Core Management Team

  • Ran Li Zhi
    Joint Chairperson
    Venture Capital Founder

    Ran Li Zhi has been involved in the VC / PE industry for more than ten years. He was the Executive VP of Qingke Group and the Managing Director of Qingke Group Investment Bank (Qingke Capital). During this period, he led nearly 20 financing initiatives including Tianya Community, Chuanjie Network, Baihe.com, and SECOO.COM. At the same time, Mr. Ran was also involved in the founding of "Venture Nation". Subsequently, Mr. Ran has created equity investment and financing internet platforms called "Hao Xiangmu (Good Project)" and "Tou Yi Shou (Throw in a Hand)" and served as CEO, obtaining many rounds of VC investments.

    In addition, Mr. Ran was a leader of small science and technology companies including SENSORO, Heat Media, Yami and City Legend, led investment into 20 small companies and won the title of "Excellent Zhongguancun Angel Investor 2015". At present, he is focused on various investment opportunities in the blockchain industry chain, and is invested in dozens of blockchain projects including Fcoin, Intervalue, SMT, Coin World, etc.

  • Henry Wang
    Joint Chairperson
    Chairman of the SmartMesh Foundation

    President of the International Association for Block Chain Applications (IBAF) and President of the Universal Consensus and Connectivity Organization. Henry Wang is an ideological leader in global blockchain development and a senior technical expert. His research and development covers Internet protocols, blockchain, chip design, artificial intelligence, big data, edge computing, the Internet of Things, and the interconnection of all things. In 2017, the SmartMesh Foundation was created in Singapore. SmartMesh is the world's first blockchain-based Mesh network protocol. In April, the Silicon Valley IT magazine APAC CIO Outlook named SmartMesh as one of the world's top 10 regional chain technology solutions providers for 2018.

  • Xiao Yong Quan
    Venture Partner
    Founder of Downjoy, Founder of MeshBox

    Downjoy was founded in 2004 and is the most active mobile gaming community in China. Xiao Yongquan was also one of the early promoters of the online and mobile game industry.

    Xiao Yongquan started his research on digital currency and blockchain in 2013. He was the most influential early investor in China's 8BTC blockchain community, and also was an early investor in blockchain projects such as SmartMesh, Aware Capital, Likecoin and more. He founded MeshBox with the goal of producing the first blockchain-based mesh router in the world.

  • Kraken Yu
    Venture Partner

    Currently serving as Vice President of Global Engineering at SmartMesh, responsible for SmartMesh's global development management and collaboration. Previously served as Chief Strategy Officer of Cubits, Europe's leading Bitcoin Exchange based in Berlin, Germany.

    As CEO of the Cornerstone Research International in Ireland, it was the first western eLearning company to worked with the software outsourcing industry in China, partnered with the Torch programme centre of MOST – Ministry of Science and Technology, and MIIT of the Chinese Government.

    Worked as manging consultant for ICCH - International Commodity Clearing House, headquartered in London, and based in Tokyo and Hong Kong, Mr Yu is responsible for introduction of Options trading in Asia, which including agricultural produces and currency. Now LCH-Clearnet, it is the world's oldest financial institute, Clearing House.

    In recent years, Mr Yu has provided project financing for large-scale international renewable energy projects, focusing on solar and wind energy. Mr Yu was part of a consortium involved in the establishment of a US$500 million renewable energy fund in 2017. Mr Yu studied MSc in Advanced Software Engineering in UCD and a Fellow of the Institute of Analyst & Programmer in England since 1989. He is also a mentor for Irish government NGOs.

  • Han Zhi Qi
    Venture Partner
    Member of Beijing Young Entrepreneurs Association, UCSI MBA

    In 2007, Huo Shi Venture Capital was founded to serve many large domestic Internet companies, such as Sohu, Sina and Focus, to help complete a number of mergers and acquisitions. At the same time, as one of the earliest FA institutions in China, Huo Shi Venture Capital has been serving many Internet enterprises, such as Taurus tourism, Jiamei Dental, Green Creation Environmental Protection and others, totaling in excess of $100 million capital.
    Since 2013, he has participated in more than 50 Token projects, including EOS, Kyber Network, Raiden Network, SmartMesh, MeshBox, Status, Bluzelle, Tezos, Nebulas, Tenx and 0x.

  • Qu Tao
    Venture Partner

    Mr. Qu has been involved in the VC/PE industry for nearly ten years. He has successively served as senior manager of Qingke Capital, Vice-president of China Everbright University Holdings Investment and Senior Vice-president of Shanghai Jinpu Investment, during which he has led or assisted in the completion of investment and financing transactions amounting to nearly 1 billion RMB involving digital entertainment, Internet finance, Internet consumption, energy conservation and environmental protection. Fields include investments in well-known projects such as Nasdaq: BILI, Medium Electric Power (acquired by SZ: 002564) and ChangBa.

    Mr. Qu is mainly engaged in early investment and post-investment management in the field of digital economy, has participated in a number of mobile Internet start-up projects, and also served as the "first-hand" CFO of equity investment and financing Internet platforms. At present, he focuses on the application of blockchain to the entertainment, finance and consumer industries

    Before entering the VC / PE industry, Mr. Qu served as Senior Auditor of Ernst & Young Accounting Firm and participated in the auditing work of several listed and pending listing companies.

    Mr. Qu holds a Bachelor's and Master's Degree in economics from Xiamen University, with a major in investment economics and national economics.

  • Qiu Yue Feng
    Venture Partner

    Mr. Qiu has been involved in the IT industry for nearly 20 years. He has served as Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer and Chief Market and Strategy Officer for Nasdaq listed company Wen Si Haihui Group. He has participated in capital operations such as overseas listings, peer-to-peer mergers and privatizations. He has also led the acquisition of many companies worldwide and helped the company achieve digital goals. He has done deep research in databases and data science

    Previously, Mr. Qiu worked at HP and Lucent Technologies, focusing on enterprise applications and research and development of communications products.

    Mr. Qiu is also an angel investor, investing in some of the most distinctive Internet start-ups and helping them grow.

    Mr. Qiu holds a bachelor's and master's degree in science from Fudan University, with a major in computer software.

Advisors

Past Investment Cases

SmartMesh-Rootscap生态基金简介

智源基金SmartRoots Fund是由SmartMesh和Roots Capital起源资本联合发起的,第一个专注于全球下一代去中心化Mesh网络的物联网和边缘计算领域的区块链生态基金,基金规模为1亿美金,一期3000万美元。

  • SmartMesh是基于区块链的下一代去中心化网络的TCP/IP协议。SmartMesh内置区块链轻节点,扩展闪电与雷电等区块链二级架构网络协议实现代币的无网微支付。基于区块链代币的激励,SmartMesh可以自组织形成一个具有弹性、去中心化、能够自我修复的Mesh Network,提供比互联网更高的近场速度和带宽,并且它通常是免费的。SmartMesh让区块链突破互联网边界进入IoT物联网与IoE万物互联时代。
  • Roots Capital起源资本从2017年专注区块链投资。截至目前,已累计投资数十个区块链项目并致力成为其长期合作伙伴,在生态建设、社群运营、媒体、募资、交易所等各方面整合资源、赋能所投项目,与其共同成长。
  • SmartRoots的投资方向为SmartMesh生态领域离线通信技术、芯片、物联网及应用、边缘计算和边缘存储等领域的优质项目的一级和二级投资,同时兼顾全球顶级区块链项目发掘和投资。

投资方向和策略

SMT生态优质项目一级市场投资

国际顶级区块链项目一级市场投资

核心管理团队

  • 冉立之
    投决会联席主席
    起源资本创始人

    涉足VC/PE行业十余年,曾担任国内著名VC/PE综合服务提供商清科集团执行副总裁兼清科集团投行部(清科资本)董事总经理,其间,主导了天涯社区、赶集网、百合网、六间房和寺库奢侈品等近二十笔融资交易。同时,冉先生还参与创立了《创业邦》。随后,冉先生先后创立了股权投融资互联网平台“好项目”和“投一手”并担任CEO,获得多轮VC投资。

    创办起源资本后,冉先生主导了小能科技、SENSORO云子、热度传媒、丫咪Yami和城市传奇等二十多家公司的投资,荣获“2015年度中关村优秀天使投资人”称号。目前专注于区块链产业链上的各类投资机会,投资了包括Fcoin、Intervalue、SMT、币世界等数十个区块链项目。

  • 王启亨
    投决会联席主席
    SmartMesh基金会主席

    国际区块链应用联合会(IBAF)主席,世界连接与共识组织 (UCCO)主席。王启亨是全球区块链领域的思想领袖,也是一位资深的技术专家。他的研究与开发覆盖到互联网协议、区块链、芯片设计、人工智能、大数据、边缘计算,物联网,万物互联。 2017年,在新加坡创立了SmartMesh Foundation,SmartMesh是全球第一个基于区块链的Mesh网络协议。今年4月,硅谷IT杂志《APAC CIO Outlook》将SmartMesh评为2018年度世界十大区块链技术方案提供商。

  • 肖永泉
    投资合伙人
    当乐创始人、MeshBox创始人

    2004年创立当乐网,当乐是中国最活跃的手机游戏社区,肖永泉是早期中国移动互联网和移动游戏行业发展的早期推动者之一。移动互联网组织长城会创始会员。

    肖永泉从2013年开始数字货币和区块链的研究,是中国最有影响力的区块链社区巴比特早期投资人,也是SmartMesh、Aware资本、Likecoin等区块链项目早期投资人,全球第一个基于区块链Mesh网络路由器MeshBox项目创始人。

  • Kraken Yu
    投资合伙人

    目前担任SmartMesh全球工程副总裁,负责SmartMesh全球开发管理和合作,之前担任位于德国柏林的欧洲领先的数字货币交易所Cubits首席战略官。

    爱尔兰Cornerstone国际研究中心CEO。

    担任总部设在伦敦的 ICCH全亚洲总管顾问 - 国际商品交易所清算所 (ICCH - International Commodity Clearing House),驻东京及香港,负责推出亚洲期权交易买卖, 包括农作品及货币。 现LCH- Clearnet,是世界上最有历史的金融结算行。

    近年为大型国际再生​​能源项目提供项目融资,专注于太阳能和风能。 参与2017年成立5亿美元再生能源基金的财团的一部分。

    Kraken也是爱尔兰政府信息科技发展顾问。

  • 韩智其
    投资合伙人
    北京市青年企业家协会委员,UCSI MBA

    2007年创立鲲石创投,先后服务搜狐、新浪、分众等国内多家大型互联网公司,帮助完成多项并购业务,同时作为中国最早的FA机构之一,先后服务途牛旅游、佳美口腔、绿创环保等多家互联网企业融资,总额超过1亿美元。
    2013年就开始参与数字货币投资,至今已经参与超过50个Token项目,包括EOS、Kyber Network、Raiden Network、SmartMesh、MeshBox、Status、Bluzelle、Tezos、Nebulas、Tenx、0x等几十个国内国外项目。

  • 曲韬
    投资合伙人

    曲先生涉足VC/PE行业近十年,先后担任清科资本高级经理、中国光大控股投资副总裁和上海金浦投资高级副总裁,其间主导或协助完成的投融资交易金额累积近十亿人民币,涉及数字娱乐、互联网金融、互联网消费和节能环保等领域,包括对哔哩哔哩(Nasdaq:BILI)、中机电力(SZ:002564收购)和唱吧等知名项目的投资。

    加入起源资本后,曲先生主要从事数字经济领域的早期投资和投后管理,参投了多个移动互联网初创项目,同时兼任股权投融资互联网平台“投一手”CFO。目前主要关注区块链在娱乐、金融和消费领域的行业应用。

    进入VC/PE行业前,曲先生曾担任安永会计师事务所高级审计师,参与多家上市和拟上市公司审计工作。

    曲先生持有厦门大学经济学学士和硕士学位,主修投资经济学和国民经济学。

  • 邱越峰
    投资合伙人

    邱先生涉足IT行业近二十年,曾任纳斯达克上市公司文思海辉集团高级副总裁兼首席信息官、首席市场和战略官,参与了公司境外上市、对等合并和私有化等资本运作, 也主导了公司在全球范围内的多起收购并助力公司实现数字化转型,在数据库和数据科学方面有着深入的研究。

    此前,邱先生分别在惠普和朗讯科技供职,专注于企业应用和通信产品的研发。

    邱先生还是一名天使投资人,投资了一些极具特色的互联网初创企业并协助其成长。

    邱先生持有复旦大学理学学士和硕士学位,主修计算机软件。

顾问

过往投资案例